32 is not 22.

25 Apr

I was about half way thru my drive to work this morning when the song “22” came on the radio.  It’s by Taylor Swift and the lyrics go like this…

“It feels like a perfect night to dress up like hipsters,
And make fun of our exes, ah ah, ah ah
It feels like a perfect night for breakfast at midnightTo fall in love with strangers, ah ah, ah ah
Yeah we’re happy, free, confused and lonely at the same time
It’s miserable and magical oh yeah
Tonight’s the night when we forget about deadlines, it’s time”

And it made me think about when I was 22… A DECADE ago!!!!!!!  Seriously,  a decade.  Unbelieveable.  I am engaged. I have a dog. I am moving to the CUN-TREE. In Virginia.  I am applying to grad school. I am a runner.  I rarely consume alcohol.  I have a degree.  I do not smoke. I do not eat after 7 pm.  I can’t sleep in anymore!!!  I can remember everynight for the past year. And I have no social life to speak of.  10 years ago, I was an undergrad. I was fresh from studying abroad in Spain. I had a boyfriend who was applying to law school.  I was living with 5 other girls- sorority sisters!  And out of those 5, I only talk to one and she is my maid of honor.  I drank like a fish, swore like a sailor and wore Athens county out.  I was a delivery driver for W.G. Grinders. I would eat pizza rolls like they were going out of style. I could sleep til 2 pm, wake up- hung over as all get out- eat, shower and go out again, only to wake up, hung over and repeat the same damn process all over.  I was on the social scene 10 years ago.  SO much as changed.  Mostly for the better.  I have SO many awesome memories from that time of my life and while I was a wild child, I’m glad that I got to experience life in that unbridled, passionate, carefree way.  Growing up is a real stinker sometimes.  But give me progress anyday and oh, the change.  Give me that too!  I feel like I have come a loooong way and I still have a long, long way to go but so far, the ride, man! the ride, has been full. 

 
 
Leave a Reply

