12 Years

11 Sep

12 years ago, I was 20 years old and a junior in college. I had already been to my 8 am Spanish class and was walking to my sorority house to spend an hour hanging out in between classes. I watched the second plane hit the tower. I knew someone who’s sister was on that plane. My uncle’s office at the Pentagon was hit (thankfully, he and my aunt were in Korea at the time). We never could have guessed this would have happened here, to us. I remember all the volunteers leaving their homes to help find others under the rubble that was the World Trade Center. I remember the pictures of the first responders and the flags they raised. I remember the photograph of Chaplin Father Mychal Judge, in the arms of NYFD members.

And 12 years later, I’m not sure the world is in a better place but I am hopeful. Hopeful for the future. Hopeful for peace and tolerance and faith.

Bear witness and never forget.

Leave a Reply

