Single digits.

18 Sep

As of today, we have entered the land of single digits. 9 days to be exact. Hoooo, man. It is really coming up fast. Last night when MBM and I got home, we quickly changed into our dog walking gear and headed out the front door with the dog to get our walk on. And while we were walking, we started talking about what song we were going to dance our first dance to. We had picked Rod Picott’s Angels and Acrobats but now maybe we want something different? And by we, I mean MBM. He bought the new Over the Rhine album, Meet Me at the Edge of the World and wanted to play “Earthbound Love Song” for me. Let me first say, I adore OTR. I love her voice, their lyrics, everything. And this song is beautiful. Sad but oh so beautiful. HOWEVER, the first line talks about being broken hearted. And then the chorus says, “Some questions cannot be answered
Who’s gonna bury who…”
A bit of a downer for a first dance at a wedding BUT THEN! They bring you back in with joy by ending the chorus with…”we need a love like Johnny and June.” See. Beautiful.

I do love it but I don’t want it to be my first dance with my husband. Whoa. HUSBAND. That’s the first time I’ve written that. Weird.

So, I think we are going with Todd Snider’s “All that Matters”.

I mean, the lyrics! The lyrics are prefect. And so us.

Enjoy!

All that Matters. Todd Snider.

I can’t dance but I feel like dancin’
Not with anyone, only you
You’re as true as love can be
You’re all that matters to me

You’re all that matters to me, all that matters
You’re all that matters to me
I don’t care if I know
Where we come from or where we’ll go
You’re all that matters to me

Out in the rain, lost as I was
I said,”you think it’ll ever stop”
You said,”it always does”
And you were right, look and see
You’re all that matters to me

You’re all that matters to me, all that matters
You’re all that matters to me
I don’t care if I know
Where we come from or where we’ll go
You’re all that matters to me

I hear that song, that song is our song
And so is the next song
I’m certain as I’m ever going to be
I don’t care about this crowd
Let ‘me laugh, I’m not proud
Nor am I afraid for anyone to see

You’re all that matters to me, all that matters
You’re all that matters to me
I don’t care if I know
Where we come from or where we’ll go
You’re all that matters to me

It’s perfect. Absolutely wonderful and perfect.

daily grats:
My mother for running around like crazy and gettin all this wedding stuff in order
and for good music.

Leave a Reply

