Book rewind

16 Dec

While I haven’t been blogging on the reg, I have been reading. A lot.

In the past 3 weeks, I’ve finished 2 books and started a 3rd.

20131212-142427.jpg
The first was a dark and pretty gritty Italian novel called As God Commands. Think of it like this: if the Cohen Brothers ever wanted to adapt a dark, twisted and dirty novel that takes place in Italy, into a movie, THIS would be at the top of the list. There’s a skinhead with a young son. An alcoholic friend who is obsessed with his e wife and a dim witted sidekick who brings “Lenny” from Of Mice and Men to mind. The whole time I read the book, I felt dirty and cold. But it was a book I did like. It presented an in depth look at a group of people struggling with passion, addictions, rage and love.

The second book I read was Bad Monkey. It was a pretty funny novel, one with satirical notes and a colorful cast. In fact, the characters almost seemed like characachures of themselves. It is set in the Florida Keys and the Bahamas. The story is about insurance fraud and murder. And a monkey. I don’t want to give too much away because its so twisted! And fun!

The third book, that I’m still reading, is The Cellist of Sarajevo. The book is fiction but during the siege of Sarajevo, there actually was a cellist named Vedran Smailovic who played his instrument regularly in the ruined building of the city. And that is enough of an inspiration to keep me reading.

P.S. I am fascinated with this point of history because I was alive when it was happening. And I knew very little about it. And that horrifies me. Angelina Jolie made a movie called In the Land of Blood and Honey and it is a stark and somber look into the lives of the people who endured and survived the Bosnian War. There is nothing happy or light about the film but it will touch you in a way you’d expect from a film about the Holocaust. Or genocide. And it happened only 20 years ago.

Leave a Reply

